pagadian city

Brief History
Pagadian, a former barrio of the town of Labangan of the lone province of Zamboanga, became a municipality on March 23, 1937 through Executive Order 77 of the late Presdient Manuel L. Quezon. Its ascendancy was due to the eager initiative of then Assemblyman Juan S. Alano.
Hon. Jose Sanson was the first appointed mayor of Pagadian. After his brief tenure as town "Presidente", a regular election was held with the Hon. Francisco Consolacion becoming the first elected municipal mayor.
Later, Congressman Roseller T. Lim authored R.A. 711 dividing Zamboanga into two provinces -- the Norte and Sur -- on June 6, 1952. Pagadian became the capital town of Zamboanga del Sur which was itself inaugurated on September 17, 1952. Pagadian became a chartered city on June 21, 1969 through R.A. 5478.

Situated on the northeastern side of the region, Pagadian City is the gateway to Zamboanga del Sur, the larhgest province of Western Mindanao. It is also a point of entry to the cities of Ozamis, Iligan and Cotabato. Its rolling terrain encompassing both commercial and residential districts, reminiscent of the famous Crown Colony, has earned for it the sobriquet Little Hongkong of the South. Pagadian City has a total land area of 331.6 square kilometers with 54 barangays.

basic facts
natural attractions
man-made attractions
local festivities
recreation facilities
support services

Population and Languages/Dialects Spoken
Pagadian City was home to 125,182 people per the 1995 Census count. Residents generally speak Cebuano, Subanun and Boholano. Muslims in the province also speak the dialects of the Maguindanaos, Tausugs, and Samals. 

The city is dry from January to March and wet from April to December. It is not affected by tropical storms and typhoons.

| western mindanao | basilan | dapitan | dipolog | pagadian | zamboanga |