Home | nscb.gov.ph | Regional Divisions | Links | Site Map
Ilocos Norte

Ilocos Norte was created as a separate province by the King Ferdinand VII of Spain through a Royal Decree on February 2, 1818 and Republic Act map2711 on March 10, 1917. It occupies the coastal plain bordering the China Sea and guarded by the Cordilleras in the northwestern corner of Luzon. Before this, the coastal region encompassing both Ilocos Norte and Ilocos Sur was one province.

When Juan de Salcedo started his exploration in 1572, he occupied Laoag (now a city) which served as the province's capital and center of commerce and industry as well. Laoag City is about 487 kilometers Northwest of Manila.

the province is bounded in the East by Cagayan and Kalinga-Apayao, in the Southeast by Abra, in the South by Ilocos Sur and in the West by the South China Sea.

As of June 30, 2001, the province is composed of:

  • one (1) city
  • 22 municipalities and
  • 557 barangays

Like the other provinces of the Ilocos, Ilocos Norte's economy is mostly agriculture- based. Aside from rice, the province is a major producer of fruits, vegetables and legumes, specifically, garlic and tomato.

Manufacturing has become a thriving industry in the province where most of the establishments are focused on general contracting, furniture-making, handicrafts and metalcraft. Paoay ChurchIlocos Norte is popular for its old churches and ancestral houses. The province's booming tourism industry is due to its various scenic spots and the presence of an international airport in the City of Laoag.

The province has two distinct seasons: dry from November to April and wet during the rest of the year. Monthly average rainfall reaches 172.3 millimeters. Temperature averages 26.8 degrees centigrade.

Sources: Ilocos Norte Home of Historic Traditions, DOT, Region I/Ilocos Norte Socio Economic Profile, 1995, Provincial Planning and Development Office, Ilocos Norte

Provincial Statwatch

For comments & suggestions e-mail the Webmaster