Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC)



WHEREAS, Article X, Section 4 of the Constitution provides that the President shall exercise general supervision over local governments;

WHEREAS, the administrative regions were established to promote efficiency in the Government accelerate social and economic development and improve public services;

WHEREAS, the Commission on Elections, in its Resolution No. 4561 dated August 28, 2001, has declared that the majority of the voters in the Province of Basilan (excluding Isabela City) and in the City of Marawi, respectively voted for the inclusion of their province and  city in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM);

WHEREAS, in view of the inclusion of the Province of Basilan and other City of Marawi in the ARMM and in order to facilitate the supervision of local governments and the direction of the executive departments, there is an urgent need to reorganize the administrative regions in Mindanao.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1.  Region IX is hereby reorganized to be known as Zamboanga Peninsula and shall be composed of the following provinces and cities:

1. Provinces

    1.1 Zamboanga del NorteZamboanga del Sur
    1.2 Zamboanga Sibugay

2. Cities

2.1 Dapitan City
2.2 Dipolog City
2.3 Isabela City
2.4 Pagadian City
2.5 Zamboanga City

SECTION 2.  Region X known as Northern Mindanao, is hereby reorganized and shall be composed of the following provinces and cities:

1. Provinces

1.1 Bukidnon
1.2 Camiguin
1.3 Lanao del Norte
1.4 Misamis Occidental
1.5 Misamis Oriental

2. Cities

2.1 Cagayan de Oro City
2.2 Gingoog City
2.3 Iligan City
2.4 Malaybalay City
2.5 Oroquieta City
2.6 Ozamis City
2.7 Tangub City
2.8 Valencia City

SECTION 3.  Region XI is hereby reorganized to be known as Davao Region and shall composed of the following provinces and cities:

1. Provinces

1.1 Compostela Valley
1.2 Davao del Norte
1.3 Davao del Sur
1.4 Davao Oriental

2. Cities

2.1 Davao City
2.2 Digos City
2.3 Panabo City
2.4 Island Garden City of Samal
2.5 Tagum City

SECTION 4.  Region XII is hereby reorganized to be known as SOCCSKSARGEN and shall be composed of the following provinces and cities:

1. Provinces

1.1 North Cotabato
1.2 Sarangani
1.3 South Cotabato
1.4 Sultan Kudarat

2. Cities

2.1 Cotabato City
2.2 General Santos City
2.3 Kidapawan City
2.4 Koronadal City
2.5 Tacurong City

SECTION 5. Pursuant to Article II, Section 1 of Republic Act No. 9054, the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) shall be composed of the following provinces and city:

1. Provinces

1.1 Basilan
1.2 Lanao del Sur
1.3 Maguinadanao
1.4 Sulu
1.5 Tawi-tawi

2. City

2.1 City of Marawi

SECTION 6.  The Department of the Interior and Local Government is hereby directed to supervise the foregoing reorganization of the administrative regions in Mindanao and publish the new composition of said administrative regions.

SECTION 7.  All orders, rules, regulation and issuances, or parts thereof, which are inconsistent with this Executive Order, are hereby repealed or modified accordingly.

SECTION 8.  This Executive Order shall take effect immediately upon approval.


City of  Manila, September 19, 2001

By the President:   (Sgd.)

Executive Secretary


Philippine Standard Geographic Codes

Main Page


 • Foreword
 • Preface
 • NSCB Resolution
 • Memorandum
 • TWG Members

 • E.O. 36
 • E.O. 103
 • E.O. 108
 • E.O. 183
 • E.O. 429

 • A.O 129

 • P.D. 465

Technical Notes
 • Background
 • Preparation Procedures
 • Salient Features
 • Structure
 • Updating Procedures
 • Uses

Concepts and Definitions
 • Local Government Units
 • City Classification
 • Urban/Rural Classification
 • Income Classification

  Email the Webmaster E-mail the webmaster Terms of Use Home • Top of Page  

PSA CVEA Bldg., East Avenue Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
Telephone no. 462-6600 loc. 839; E-mail: